The early years foundation stage and progress checks

The early years foundation stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old.

All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.

It sets out:

  • The legal welfare requirements that everyone registered to look after children must follow to keep your child safe and promote their welfare.
  • Seven areas of learning and development.
  • Progress checks, when your child is aged between two and three and again when they turn five. The progress checks will identify your child’s strengths and any areas where their progress is not as expected. If there are any concerns they will discuss these with you and what support to put in place to help your child.
  • Expected outcomes that your child should reach by the end of their reception year (the year in which they turn 5).

Find out more about the curriculum and what your child will learn in reception class.


Save to Shortlist
Skip back to top of page